Audio Cassette Speed Calibration Test Tape - Free Shipping Worldwide

 
(21 reviews)  

5 stars
 21 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
21 results found
Show results 1 - 21
Marcel van Houten
Oct 13, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Ordered this cassette to calibrate a Pioneer cassettedeck that was clearly slowing down all music.
A random YouTube-video helped me understand the idea about using a tape like this. I recommend this video, it's not a very polished effort, but it's also not TOO technical:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60dG35aJPmY

So, in Audacity on my computer I created a 440Hz test-tone (in the menu: Generate > Tone, use the defaults), played it, and played the cassette in the deck, in my case I used the sound from the Phones-out - plugged into the same speakers as my computer.

You have to irritate your family members (or neighbours) here, as you have to play it LOUD to hear the beating of the frequencies.

This is the point were you can adjust the speed on your deck. How and where depends on the deck, and more often than not, you need the service manual to find out how to do it. Check out this site if you need one:
https://www.hifiengine.com/manual-library.shtml

In my case it was a little screw directly on the motor, looking similar to this:
http://probe.com.au/ocart2/image/cache/catalog/product-180/ZTmECatyXc-DSCF5450-500x500.jpg

Of course, this is not a REALLY accurate method, but checking with my own ears, and streaming the same song on Spotify and playing it on a pre-recorded cassette, I'm more than satisfied.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Santo Spinali
May 22, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Product is as advertised. Purchased this test tape to adjust a deck I cleaned up and after changing the capstan belt, which gives one confidence that the deck is working well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Robert Romano
Dec 24, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great tape! Made it easy with a guitar tuner. I have a Marantz PMD-510 Pro deck with two separate decks in one unit. It has a pitch control for each deck on the front of the unit so adjusting the pitch was easy. Luckily the both deck were pretty accurate anyway but the tape made it easy to ensure proper pitch. Thanks!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Josep Gonzalez-Calvet
Jan 11, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought the tape because my Akai GX casette deck sounded too fast. I tried an early adjustment by taking advantage of the same music recorded in a tape and a CD, but it is only a provisional solution with a fairly high margin of error. Finally I have ordered the adjustment tape. I turn the motor adjustment screw looking at the frequency measured using a free phone app, "Frequency Counter", while the adjustment tape is playing. Now the fit is simply perfect. Thanks!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ken Page
Feb 26, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I don't have a oscilloscope to test the speed of my deck, so this was the next method I could use. With my guitar tuner and the 440 tone on the cassette it worked like a charm, will buy more product in the future thanks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chito REFUERZO
Mar 20, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I never knew I could use my guitar tuner to calibrate the speed of cassette decks until I found the Duplication.CA. website. Bought 2 calibration tapes. The 440Hz was easier to use for calibration WITH my KORG Pitchblack Custom tuner. A 3150Hz tone is also included in the tape for use with a Frequency Counter. I didn't bother to test my machine using the 3150Hz tone on my DMM's frequency counter since the 440Hz worked well with my guitar tuner. I would recommend this calibration tape to anybody working with cassette deck speed calibration. Guitar tuners are getting cheap these days. IT WORKS!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
J. Mulder
Apr 7, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought it to calibrate my Nagra SNN spy recorder. Not done as yet but it will be ok
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
James Jones
Sep 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product! Great Price!! Works as it should!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Ian Pickering
Oct 19, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
An excellent product. I was finally able to set the speed on three cassette decks. Easy to use, and a great price. Recommended!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Gary Dalmadge
Feb 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
First off, many thanks to the previous reviewer Marcel for the tip on the location of the motor speed adjustment.

I just finished up using this tape and the level calibration tape to calibrate one of my decks. It worked perfectly.

I used it along with a computer based instrument tuner called fmit (Free Music Instrument Tuner) for the 440Hz tone. I connected the output of my deck to the sound card input. There is another similar tool called "lingot". But fmti seemed to work a little better on my system Ubuntu Linux).

I also used the frequency analysis tool in Audacity to double check the accuracy. Audacity can also be used with the 3150Hz tone on the tape.

I highly recommend this tape.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David Lee
Apr 23, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Easy to use. I don’t have test equipment. Used a 440 hz test tone.

Was able to match tone with digital tuner.

Very pleased.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
JOSEPH PHAN VAN HO
May 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I purchased an Audio cassette Speed calibation for testing my TapeDeck. This product is perfect to calibate the speed and many thanks to customer service for your quick answer.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marco Castro
Sep 22, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
In my case it was not straightforward to adjust since when starting one of the double decks it plays at 3200 Hz and then slows down to the correct speed, within a few seconds but I think I've got it correctly adjusted since playing both decks at the same time they stop with 15 seconds difference. The pots are difficult to reach and very sensitive. I used Daqarta on PC to adjust and at the same time I aligned both waves, so I presume azimuth is also corrected. Now I'm restoring my old Pioneer CT-606 deck and as this one has a heavy flywheel it should be easier to adjust. Yes the tape works as expected.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Randy Smith
Jan 5, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Worked like a charm to calibrate decks A and B of a used Harman/Kardon dual tape deck. I used a guitar tuner app I loaded on a Nintendo DS which has an indicator for tuning to A. Playing against a true A tone and tuning by ear should also work well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pasquale Catanzaro
Feb 6, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Thanks for the excellent tape test. Excellent shipping service. Thanks again from Italy!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
bob jerome
Feb 19, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
hi this tape work ace in any 4 track head set up
not for any 6 8 track recorders there are space's
where the tape is not recorded i have a tascam 238
8 track you can see the levels are not moving

MRL full track head one's would work better on the 6 8 track recorders

it's a ace tape for the money i am super pleased
with it but there one small thing i had to change
the black parts that push the tape as the tape
was not spooling into the take up reel right
i changed in over for a trans one only a small thing the post was ace and fast £12 uk
all in it's a great deal i can make a full track
one tape tell me where to put the levels
never make a tape yours self a line up with out any ref to go by like on lot of sites this was recorded on a 4 track i know what to look for

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dominique
Oct 21, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Très bon produit, livraison assez rapide compte tenu de la distance avec la France, bon prix.
Cette cassette permet de régler la vitesse et le gain des platines correctement.
Je suis très content.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Thomas Jackson
Apr 4, 2021
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The tape arrived in perfect condition. I used the 440Hz tone with a guitar tuner to check my tape deck speed. Also by using an oscilloscope I was able to measure the delay between the left and right stereo channels. The amplitudes of the left and right channels were different by about 2dB but I attributed that to difference in alignment of the test tape recorder and my cassette deck. I decided to leave my head alignment alone. This is a very useful product and I highly recommend it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aleš Štokelj
Sep 27, 2021
This customer purchased the item at our site.
All is ok
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joost Berk
Apr 2, 2022
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The tape came as expected within 3 weeks.

My Sony TC-RX611S has a replacement drive-motor that should be on te correct speed, but I thougth it wasn't. I needed to test this correctly. And with this tape I was able to check this. The deck indeed drives to fast. 3,5% to be exactly.

So now I orderd a correct spare motor that I can adjust following the Sony instructions. I will do this with this tape as a guidance.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
William T Arnaiz
Jun 8, 2022
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Invaluable alignment tool/tape, a must have for proper calibration of tape deck. Used it on three that were out of cal. since purchase. Smooth shopping experience, items packaged very well. Ordering very easy on the website.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!
Gift certificates

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.